Paris: Jet Lagged

Wednesday, May 18, 2016

Today we went and walked around the base of the Eiffel Tower which was so neat. It is so much larger than I ever thought it would be. It is crazy though because there were so many armed military men and women around. I counted around twenty. The country is still under martial law (from the Paris attacks) so they are everywhere. It’s comforting, yet a strong reminder that this country has had serious attacks in the last two years. 13256408_598124797013906_4273871920650783038_n

After visiting the Eiffel, we got on the hop on/hop off bus and headed toward the Louvre to take pictures outside. After that, we came back to the apartment as the whole deal took about four hours. Then, being super jet lagged, I took a three-hour nap.13260089_598123000347419_209198974125879741_n

I am very happy I am here, but of I were here by myself I would spend more time walking along the streets, spending time in cafes, trying to immerse myself in the culture. Regardless, I am so happy to be fortunate enough to be here! I do wish I could live here for a few months to fully immerse myself into the culture.

Earlier, when I was in my room, one of the other apartment tenants was singing on his balcony to the music he had playing in his apartment. For all I know it was a terrible song, but in French, it sounded lovely. It’s raining now and that alone will have me asleep soon.

Read my other Paris adventures here:

Getting to Paris: Day 1

Starting Off in Paris: Day 1, Part 2

Paris: Museums and Versailles

Paris: The Sights and Books

Paris: When it Rains

 

5 thoughts on “Paris: Jet Lagged

Leave a Reply

