How I’m Prepping for My Summer Internship

Good morning fellow interns/future interns/someone genuinely interested in my intern prepping!

This summer I am super fortunate to have an internship. You can read more about how I got it HERE. In anticipation for it to begin, I’ve been doing a few things to prepare so I am not completely caught off guard on my first day.

Pinterest

Yes, Pinterest was my first stop. When I first scored this internship, I searched Pinterest for outfits, advice, and anything else I could get my hands on. Follow my links below to see my boards:

Outfits & Advice/Help

While on Pinterest, I looked at different outfits/found infographics that I thought would help me the most. I’ll mainly be wearing business casual and seeing as it’s summer I didn’t want to be sweaty but knew I needed to still look professional. I was able to compile information that I knew would come in handy once it came time for the first day.

Clothing

My next step was to purchase clothing. After speaking with the campus relations team, I knew what was expected for office attire. My grandmother found a personal stylist from a department store that we went to. The woman pulled a variety of clothes for me to try on and showed me how to pair items so I would be able to make 13 pieces into multiple outfits. It also helped that I already owned some pieces from interviews/career fairs prior. What we purchased (on a major sale day) was:

  • 3 pairs of dress pants (black, navy, and gray)
  • 1 dress skirt
  • 2 dresses
  • 4 tops
  • 1 cardigan
  • 1 black blazer
  • 1 navy knit blazer

I am now able to pair all of this with my existing pieces, my nude & black heels, and nude flats. I would recommend collecting pieces at a much slower rate than I did as to not break the bank.

Research

This can relate to research about the company, research into “how not to be THAT intern”, or again, clothing.

Since I had already researched the company prior to my first and second round interviews, I skipped this step more or less once I received the position. My main goto’s were finding out what to bring the first day, what to expect at orientation, etc. Here are a few of my favorite articles that helped me a bit more.

What I Wish I Knew Before I Started My Internship

Don’t Be That Intern

What to Expect Your First Day of Your Internship

What to Bring to Your Internship Orientation or Training

There are thousands of more websites, but to be honest, these came up first in Google search and gave me the information I was looking for!

Lists

I am a list person (see: my entire drop down of lists on my menu). For me, creating a handwritten list, not on my phone (gasp) gives me more control. My current list includes everything I need to take to my orientation day.

  • Notebook (to make more lists, write down passwords/instructions)
  • Pens
  • Tablet (in case you need to log into something during orientation)
  • License/ SSN/any other identifying information for tax forms
  • Granola bars to avoid the 3:00 pm hangry attack
  • Water bottle (hydration, y’all)
  • Any other additional information your company requests

Other

Something I’m sure many other articles won’t tell you is to get your life at home straightened up so you’ll be in the right mindset. I cleaned my room and closet so I won’t be getting ready in a garbage can come my first day. One way I know I feel more relaxed is if everything is in its place, my bed is made, and my closet is ready for when my alarm doesn’t go off in time and I’m running late. Just kidding, I set multiple alarms to try and avoid this, but you get the point.

For me, simple things as having everything ready to go the night before and cleaned eases my nerves and allows me to fully focus on the task ahead so my first day of my internship would be no exception to this treatment.

Have any of you all had an internship? What advice would you give to someone (*cough* me) who hasn’t had any other job besides a camp counselor or working retail? I’m going to be honest and say I’m nervous, but excited and would love to hear from you all!

Until next time, after my first day….

3 thoughts on “How I’m Prepping for My Summer Internship

Leave a Reply

